mobile logo

Marian Anderson Award

Marian Anderson Logo

The Marian Anderson Award honors critically acclaimed artists who have impacted society in a positive way, either through their work or their support for an important cause.

Created in 1998, the Award is named for the great Philadelphian and American artist. The first recipient of the Marian Anderson Award in 1998 was Harry Belafonte, followed by Gregory Peck, Dame Elizabeth Taylor, Quincy Jones, Danny Glover, Oprah Winfrey, Ruby Dee and Ossie Davis, Sidney Poitier, Richard Gere, Maya Angelou and Norman Lear, Bill Cosby, Mia Farrow, James Earl Jones, Berry Gordy, Jon Bon Jovi and Wynton Marsalis.

Each year honorees are selected by the Award’s board of directors from among candidates with distinguished careers of artistic achievement and critical acclaim.

Importantly, The Marian Anderson Award also honors the legacy of Marian Anderson through its Young Artist Study-Grant (YASG) Program which supports financially challenged high school-aged artists from throughout the Greater Philadelphia area.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website and personalized content.

Learn More.