mobile logo
Jean-Yves Thibaudet with piano Jean-Yves Thibaudet with piano Jean-Yves Thibaudet with piano

The Philadelphia Orchestra

Bernstein’s Age of Anxiety

Mar 16, 2018
Mar 18, 2018

This event has passed.


Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor
Jean-Yves Thibaudet - Piano

Bernstein - Symphony No. 2 for Piano and Orchestra ("The Age of Anxiety") (after W.H. Auden)
Schumann - Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120 (original version)
Strauss - Don Juan, Op. 20

The poet W.H. Auden captured the mood of an uneasy generation with his post-war The Age of Anxiety, a work that inspired Bernstein’s Second Symphony, a musical dialogue among four strangers searching for happiness in an unsettled world. At least one of them finds “the core of faith,” said Bernstein, “which is what one is after—and what I’m after in every work I ever write.” Bernstein himself was at the piano for the premiere; our soloist is the daring and dashing Jean-Yves Thibaudet, “a musician with fearless, flawless fingers” (The West Australian). Yannick compares the tortured genius of Bernstein with that of Schumann with the latter’s flowing Symphony No. 4, ending with the passionate frenzy of Richard Strauss’s Don Juan.

Verizon Hall

Kimmel Center

300 S Broad St

Philadelphia, PA 19102